Trying to Plan Ahead

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rss1080

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am wondering what you guys think my chances will be. I am currently a sophomore and want to know if there is anything else that I can do to help my chances of getting into a medical school. I currently attend VCU and my major is chemistry and minor is biology. Seeing people with 1000+ hours of volunteering really worries me, especially because of how small my numbers look and I would really like to know opinions and improvements I can do.

GPA: Right now 4.0 but just to be safe assume 3.9.

MCAT:32 is my minimum goal so assume that.

Ethnicity: White male

EC: I should have ~240 hours of volunteering in the hospital by end of senior, I get about 60 a year. I get about 2 hours a week at the hospital of volunteering. Will this be enough? I should also have from 150-200 hours of shadowing in whatever specialties are available by the end of my senior year too, not sure about when I will be able to shadow or for how long, I need to hear back from the volunteer coordinator.
I am part of a nonclinical volunteer organization and hold a board position.
During breaks I work as a delivery driver and work at a large stadium selling beer and stuff.

If I keep this up will this be enough? I am not too keen on research, as I would much rather interact with people and help them directly than work in a lab. How important do you think research is and what other things should I consider doing or will holding steady be good enough?

Schools I want to apply to, in no particular order because I just want to get into a medical school and will pick and choose after the fact (I am aware that some of the schools are unatainable but I just put it on the list anyway, let me know what you think of the list and what I can add):

VCU
UVA
Virginia Tech
Eastern Virginia Medical School
Georgetown
George Washington