Two questions in one about MATH for MCAT takers, medical students and premeds

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Angie_MD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!
So my first question is, are all physicians great at MATH? I ask this because my weakest area is math how ever it has progressed because of consistent practice, I have been a vet tech now for about two years and my job consists of dosage calculations which I don't have a problem with at all, converting units and what not, but sometimes I get super discouraged at times, so I just need to know are all physicians naturally great at math and are most of you great at math? Second question is , how calculated is the physics section of the test and would I have to memorize all of the equations involved in physics as a whole? For those who have taken the MCAT already

Members don't see this ad.

As you don't get a calculator, the math is reasonably simple. But be prepared to do back of the calculations. A sample question you could be asked to do is calculating how long it would take light to travel through a block with a width of x and a refractive index of y. You don't need to memorize all the equations but you need to know a fair share (kinetic energy, potential energy, kinematics, etc.)

Most physicians are not very good at math. Obviously better than the average person, but the majority got an A or B in an introductory calculus course for freshman and stopped there with the math classes. A lot of them probably couldn't even tell you the meaning of a derivative.

Members don't see this ad :)
The physics on the MCAT isn't anything more than algebra based. As far as calculus goes, it's a subject that comes to some easily but others it looks Chinese. I personally love calculus.

Reactions: 1 users
Lol no, most physicians are not good at math. The board exams even have a calculator feature because doing math by hand is a waste of time.