UCONN Post-Bacc? Anyone know anything?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

watsonry

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys:

I am new here--this site seems very informative.

A little about myself:

I am 23 years old. I graduated from Georgetown University in 2002 with a degree in English Literature. I had a 3.6 cum and a 3.85 in my major.

I have had two years of interesting work and experiences (sous chef, little league baseball coach, director of development for non-profit etc.)

For a variety of reasons, I have decided that medicine is my true calling. I took honors Chem and Physics in high school along with Calculus--but never took any "hard sciences" in college.

Thus, to make up for my science/math deficiency I have decided to enroll in a post-bacc. I live in CT, and UCONN's seems like the best option for me. The cost is very low, they seem to have good support and opportunities to volunteer/research at the Health Center.

A few questions for those who know about the program at UCONN:

1) Are the classes held at Farmington or Storrs?
2) How does the linkage to UCONN-Med work? Do you have to take the MCAT? Is there a certain GPA level you need to reach in your post-bacc classes?
3) How many classes do you take every semester?
4) Based on my the above biography of myself, would I stand a good chance of being admitted to the progam? Would I stand a good chance of being offered conditional admission to the Med School?
5) What types of research/volunteer opportunities are available?
6) Besides UCONN-Med, what other Med schools does this post-bacc program have a good relationship with?

Any other thoughts/anecdotes would be appreciated. Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my (many) questions---:)

P.S. I would be applying to "Progam A" at UConn--for people with no science background

Members don't see this ad.

Hey-