UG Junior, looking at Psych Grad for first time

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PeterParker20

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, I'll try to keep this short and sweet.

I'm a junior at Rice University, double majoring in political science and psychology. I majored in these subjects because they are very interesting to me; I didn't have any vocational reasons.

Anyway, as senior year looms close and I still lack certainty in to what direction I should go, I am looking increasingly into psychology and becoming a psychologist - including research, teaching, or clincal practice - each sounds appealing to me.

So a few questions:

My first step would be, ideally, to see the day to day work of what various research or clinical psychologists actually do, or at least get a good picture of what I'm getting myself into. How would I go about doing that?

Next, I would need to figure out what area of psychology (research, clinical, I/O, professor) I am most interested in.

If the first two steps go well, then comes another rather big task - getting into a graduate psychology school. My GPA is 3.65 currently but I am sure I can get it to at least 3.75 by graduation. I have not taken the GRE but I absolutely crushed the SAT and ACT; I don't know how much scores correlate on those if at all. My list of extracurriculars and leadership positions are enormous, but not psychology related. The main problem is going to be - research experience.

The problem with turning an eye to psychology as a career this late in the game is that I haven't been doing any research - outside of different independent experiemental research under a professor as part of a class.