Uncertain Freshman...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

14sakuya

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

This is a long story, but I need someone to tell it to, and I really need some advice.

I am a Freshman at UC Berkeley. I am currently majoring in EECS (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science). Given that Berkeley is in the Bay Area, the CS program here is absolutely insane. The average GPA for CS majors is a 2.9. The average starting salary for a Berkeley CS grad is 100K with a 95% employment rate.

Problem is, I absolutely hate what I'm doing. I gave up premed dreams of Bioengineering at UCLA / UCSD to come here. Parental pressure made me come to Berkeley to do CS. I hate coding. The idea of sitting in front of a computer all day making software depresses the hell out of me. The CS program here is so hard. I've literally studied for 40 hours for one test only to get a C on it. I hate what I'm doing. I've put so much effort into getting good grades here, yet I can barely get a couple points above the averages on tests.

This past semester, I got 3 straight B's in my classes, for an overall 3.0 GPA.

My mother wants me to stay in CS given the great salary / job security. I've had times where I just want to switch out of CS and do premed. There is absolutely no way I can do CS while being pre med (people look at you like you're crazy if you want to do that at Berkeley).

The main question here is:
Should I give up almost 100% job security with a great starting salary to do premed at Berkeley?

If I do switch to premed, my GPA is already low as **** to start. Berkeley weeder premed classes are notoriously difficult (however, I am willing to work). My chances of matriculating into a medical school are already at 50% given the national average. If I do get into med school, I'd have to get through another 8 years before I become a doctor. This, I don't mind, however.

Please give me advice....