unconfident 1st year pharmD to med??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

threegrntrees

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello. i am a first year pharm student...repeating my first semester. i came from a community college, did very well, got into pharm school by the skin of my teeth. I made 3C's and 2 D's. it wasn't just the academics i struggled with, but the social aspect, jumping into a highly competitive grad level program... anyways, i am doing better. i have always thought about med school, never thought i could pull it off; have no college graduates in my family; a confidence issue. i am here now and would really like to have more hands on interaction with helping people then i feel like i can get with pharm.. i traveled to s.e. asia solo, went to a small isolated village and saw a little child with a huge deeply infected splinter in his leg....nobody there to do anything. i couldn't help. so my thoughts... p.a. (physician assistant school~2 1/2 year program, more competitive than pharm school) school after my four years of pharm school is over? contemplate med school? med school after pharm? i am 27 1/2years old. should i just stick to where i am in my life, knock out pharm school and utilize my knowledge? I know i am determined enough to not live an unhappy life; my question is about timing...risks and benefits.... taking a chance and know when it is the right time to do it or not...i was extremely intimidated just getting into pharm school. any thoughts would be very helpful. thanks

Members don't see this ad.