Undergrad 3.3 cGPA; s3.7GPA; MCAT this summer, Please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psychgrad262

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

So I've been trolling for YEARS and finally plucked up the courage to post:). I graduated with a BS in Health Sciences from a small school in NY in 09. My cumulative GPA was a 3.3 at graduation, which is uncharacteristically low for me (I'll explain why!) and my science GPA was a 3.7. I didn't apply to medical school right away because quite honestly I was burnt out! The reason for my low GPA was that I failed 5 classes over 2 semesters (the rest of my grades are As (80%) and Bs (20%); NO Cs, NO Ds!!)

My parents supported me for the majority of my undergraduate education until sometime in 2008, when my family moved from Germany back to Africa (where Im originally from). My father was a diplomat for this African country in turmoil and him being recalled from Germany affected the family in a big way. As a result, money became very tight and I ended up having to get a fulltime job as a nanny to make ends meet. I pretty much lost my focus at that point and things went downhill. I had always worked since about sophomore year, but just for pocket money, not to support myself (and sometimes even send money home to my folks). Long story short, one semester I failed 3 out of 5 non science classes, and the following semester I failed Orgo 2 and Biochem:(. After this second semester, I took the semester off and worked to save money. I came back that fall and completed my degree (again with As and Bs) and graduated.