This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ilovegrapesoda

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm going into my second year and I've been volunteering in a neuroscience research lab for the past 6 months. All I really do is label pipettes, run errands, etc. Occasionally I get to pipette myself and centrifuge, but that's about it. I don't really know how other undergraduates get involved in the actual projects going on in their labs. How do they get involved in the real research? Get their names on the posters and have opportunities to present their findings? How do some even get published? I want to get down to the nitty gritty but I don't know how :/ How does this happen???

Welp the best way is to talk about this with the PI before you join the lab. That your interest is to get involved with a direct research project where you can produce data and be part of a manuscript and/or present it in a variety of ways. Based on your question it doesn't sound like you did a good job doing that. You can usually get a feel in that initial conversation what the PI is going to ask of you and where it can lead.

That said 6 months for your first wet lab research project isn't that long. Even a number of those students you talk about who end up in manuscripts didn't really do anything their first 3-6 months and had to work their way up and earn the PI's respect. If you have done a good job of what's asked of you and have a solid relationship with the PI and others in your lab, express what you are saying here to him. Go up to him man to man and see what he says and how he views your situation. If hes not interested in giving you your own project or anything that can lead in that direction it might be time to move on to a different lab(and you can definitely find another PI if you are upfront about what your goals are who can help you with this if you do have to move).