Undergraduate research?

xnfs93hy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have heard that it is a very good idea to do research in UG, however, even though I do not have to worry about this for a couple years, the question has crossed my mind a few times. How the heck to you even go about doing "research" or getting something "published" or whatever. A lot of the schools I am applying to have medical schools and are mostly public research uni's. Do I have to do this "research" at MY uni? or can I do research at like the University of Cambridge or something or in another country or another school, etc? I'm just wondering.

Also, does doing research help a lot in med school admissions? Do you have to get research published? I'm just a little confused here.

Members don't see this ad.

As far as how to get research, just approach your professors. I am a freshman and I just ended up talking to a SI of one of my classes and he was able to hook me up with some great research. Just search around. P.S. My school is a public school as well.

Research is kind of like the cherry on top of a sundae. You do not have to have publications.