Unintended two-year gap - what's the best course?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rose Tyler

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated last May with my bachelor's in psychology. I applied to grad school my final semester but after a round of radio silence from doctoral programs and a couple of interviews with masters programs, I found myself shut out. When last cycle rolled around, I couldn't apply for financial reasons.

I've been out of touch with the field since graduation. I live in the country and unfortunately moving to a better location isn't feasible. Last summer, I emailed a few psych professors at local colleges asking if they needed a research assistant. The couple of replies I received indicated that they didn't really do enough research to bring in outside assistance.

My GPA was solid. My GRE scores were definitely not but I'll be retaking it should I decide to go another round. I had two years of research experience resulting in a pair of poster presentations (including one at an international conference). I'm pretty sure one of my LORs would be happy to write me another, but I'm concerned about the other two as I didn't work with them outside of class.

Is my year away just too big of a red flag? Would it be better for me to aim for a masters program instead?

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated last May with my bachelor's in psychology. I applied to grad school my final semester but after a round of radio silence from doctoral programs and a couple of interviews with masters programs, I found myself shut out. When last cycle rolled around, I couldn't apply for financial reasons.