Unique situation+a little discouraged

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

A_med_school_hopeful

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a unique situation by almost anyone's standards:

I went to a school in Texas and graduated with a 2.1 cGPA and a 2.3 sGPA. This was due to a lot of extenuating circumstances- my mom got very sick and I had to move back home to take care of her so for an entire semester I had to withdraw from all of my classes. Of course, at that point in my life, school was not my #1 priority. I did go back to school after that and when I did go back to school, I was emotionally/mentally drained. My mom was still sick and I wasn't there to take care of her. Shortly after that, I was sexually assaulted (I know that this is sounding like a movie now, but unfortunately it was my life.) and then my only priority was to graduate.

So, in the end, I graduated. It took me 5 years but I did it. However, due to all of the past circumstances and my low GPA, I am extremely discouraged about medical school.

I have been trying to turn my life around and I have been working in the medical field for 3 years (direct patient contact as well as some research), I have 3 papers published (one of which I am first author on), and I have learned some programming and statistics as well.

Basically, my college years were rough for me and I have been considering my options: I am thinking about trying the Fresh Start program for med school since I am a Texas resident (I would have to wait a few years before that takes effect, however), repeating some classes and applying for D.O. schools. I don't think I have the GPA to get into a SMP or post-bacc program somewhere. I am getting slightly discouraged and I'm not sure what the best option would be. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thank you for reading!

Members don't see this ad.

If I were in your position, I would do the Fresh Start program for sure.