University of Pikeville - Kentucky (UP-KYCOM) Discussion Thread 2013 - 2014

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Applying here! I grew up in western KY till I was thirteen. Do you guys think that'll be enough of a tie to get in?

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm applying this year or next. I'm a lifelong resident of Eastern Kentucky. I'm hoping to keep it rural for my medical education too!

Does the Appalachian Regional bias for KYCOM include Pennsylvania residents or does it focus mainly on the southern Appalachian states?

Secondary received today

Essay - Why you should be selected for training as a rural primary care osteopathic physician. Why you are applying to kycom, and why you will be a successful student at kycom. 1-2 page maximum

Secondary received today

Essay - Why you should be selected for training as a rural primary care osteopathic physician. Why you are applying to kycom, and why you will be a successful student at kycom. 1-2 page maximum

+1 Good luck all!!

Secondary received today

Same here!

umm so i got an email today saying that I do not meet the requirements to receive a secondary from KYCOM.....I am confused..... GPA 3.7 MCAT 24..... I have not completed all of the required courses but I thought the courses just had to be completed by matriculation. Help!

I would email the admissions office if I were you

Members don't see this ad :)
umm so i got an email today saying that I do not meet the requirements to receive a secondary from KYCOM.....I am confused..... GPA 3.7 MCAT 24..... I have not completed all of the required courses but I thought the courses just had to be completed by matriculation. Help!

this is one of the only schools that require you to have all your courses done before they can give you a secondary! I'm in the same boat--won't complete my last prereq until december (hoping I can have a shot even if I'm complete by early january).