Unmatched For The 2nd Year in a Row

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Unmatched Pod Grad

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
As a podiatry graduate that has not matched yet a second year in a row, I know that the CPME and my school of Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine (KSUCPM) have failed me. I graduated in May of 2014, and even though I was fully qualified for a residency position, having passed all of the necessary board exams, I was still unable to match into a podiatry residency program.

I was very saddened by this, and made it my goal in this next year to match into a residency program. I participated in a perceptorship in New Jersey, and visited as many podiatry residency programs in the area (NYC, NJ, PA) as possible. For 6 months I visited programs, which is very expensive, especially visiting NYC, when I don't have a job. I made sure to prove myself, and show the residents and program director that I was even better and more experienced than the batch of incoming podiatry graduates. I always offered to stay later, and help as much as possible. I could not extern at any programs because I did not have a job, and Kent State would not help me with the malpractice insurance costs of an externship.

I still did my absolute best and got 9 interviews, 10 if you count the post Crip interview with South Nassou. And I made sure to do amazing on the interviews. I made sure to be extremely enthusiastic, a hard worker, knowledgeable, adaptable and easy to work with. But I still did not match into a program.

I do not have the best grades, but I hoped with an incredible work ethic, and proving myself during the visit, that could make up for it. Sadly, I was mistaken.