Unopposed alpha stimulation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cbrons

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone have a good monograph that explains this?

Reason I am inquiring: stimulant + beta blocker therapy for anxious patients with ADD/ADHD, narcolepsy. Purely for self-interest.

- Yes I have looked for good resources online
- Yes I have talked with physicians but did not receive a very good/in-depth answer.

Seems in normotensive patients that the combo of amphetamine stimulants and low-dose beta blockers do not cause this problem and I've encountered several patients on the combo of Vyvanse/Adderall XR and beta blockers. I am just not well educated on the issue, and I know from my own education that beta blockers are never used in amphetamine overdose (although I have heard of labetolol being used owing to its alpha activity).

Yes I am a medical student posting on the pharmacy boards, please help point me to a good resource or lets have a discussion. Thank you for your valuable time.

Members don't see this ad.

A contraindicated combo that may result in hypertensive crisis. Here is the reason:

B2 receptors cause peripheral vasodilation
A1 receptors cause peripheral vasoconstriction

This combo will result in A1 receptor activity and a resultant vasoconstriction that can not otherwise be compensated by the blocked B2 receptors.

A contraindicated combo that may result in hypertensive crisis. Here is the reason:

This combo will result in A1 receptor activity and a resultant vasoconstriction that can not otherwise be compensated by the blocked B2 receptors.

I get that, but what is the relative risk? I am not talking about treating amphetamine overdose, but low doses of cardioselective beta blockers (i.e. Lopressor, Tenormin) with therapeutic doses of stimulants (i.e. 50mg Vyvanse, 20mg Adderall XR, etc.) in normotensive patients.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)