Unpaid fellowships?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sam91

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a medical student at a top 20 medical school interested in derm. My home program seems to fill nearly all of their derm spots through internal 1-2 year fellowships and I have found out recently many of them are unpaid, particularly the ones done after 3rd year. I have no economic support from my family and it will be very difficult financially for me to do this (would have to take out more loans) particularly because the cost of living if so high here (~30k/year). I was wondering how common this is at other programs? Honestly I was surprised these fellowships are so competitive here as prior fellows also had little to no research (many spent time answering phones, making appts, seeing pts etc), and some did not even match after being promised a spot. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am a medical student at a top 20 medical school interested in derm. My home program seems to fill nearly all of their derm spots through internal 1-2 year fellowships and I have found out recently many of them are unpaid, particularly the ones done after 3rd year. I have no economic support from my family and it will be very difficult financially for me to do this (would have to take out more loans) particularly because the cost of living if so high here (~30k/year). I was wondering how common this is at other programs? Honestly I was surprised these fellowships are so competitive here as prior fellows also had little to no research (many spent time answering phones, making appts, seeing pts etc), and some did not even match after being promised a spot. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

I'm sorry, what's your question? Seems a bit unclear from your post.

Reactions: 1 user