UQ and Sydney Med Schools Admission and my chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TanawatV

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm an international student studying in a university in the US and about to complete my bachelor's degree next spring (class of 2016). I'm a bit confused about the admission cycle and requirements of these two schools. So would I be able to apply for entry of 2016-2017 class because I think I saw that they need applicants to have a bachelor's degree before January. Also, does UQ accepts MCAT scores? They listed GMAT and other standardized exams on their requirement list but I don't see MCAT on there. If they do what are my chances? Right now I have a 3.8 GPA and may be able to raise it up a bit during this last year. I took the old MCAT and I have a 7 on verbal reasoning section but with 14 on physical science section and 12 on biological section with the overall of 33. I had shadowed several physicians and volunteered in Thailand during my sophomore year and did a month of volunteering in Tanzania and also have been working in a research lab since sophomore year. But other than that I didn't do much of volunteering. Also, do they accept personal statement like the AMCAS? If anyone know other medical schools that accept MCAT scores, I would really appreciate if you could tell me on here.

(ps. I'm considering taking a gap year. I'm also finding someone to critique my personal statement)
Please help.......
thank you in advance everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
As stated in the other thread: UQ does accept MCAT, as does USyd. GAMSAT (not to be confused with the U.S. GMAT) is the Aussie equivalent for the MCAT. Check the Int'l student requirements.