URM Texas - what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aminoacid13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a junior at UT Austin, Texas Resident. I have a 3.5 GPA and I'm taking the MCAT in mid August. I seem to be doing very well on the practice tests but we'll see. I am half Mexican and half South Asian. My major is History. I am involved in Academic Integrity Council (officer), Hispanic Health Professions Organization (member), Women in Medicine (member), Muslim Students Association (officer), and Operation Smile (officer). I shadowed a doctor summer of 2010. Last summer I just did summer school and studied for the MCAT. I'm also on the board of a women's shelter where I also extensively volunteer.

Is my GPA competitive? My science GPA is actually really low as well around 3.3 or 3.4.
Is my major bad? I feel like I'm the only History pre-med in the department. My other pre-med friends are all science majors.
Should I say that I am of mixed race? I'm only half of what qualifies as a URM and I don't want to seem dishonest.
I haven't had any lab or clinical experience, is that a red flag?

Thanks for your input.

Members don't see this ad.

Being URM and in TX, if you land a 28+ MCAT score you're bound to get an acceptance somewhere in the state.

I am currently a junior at UT Austin, Texas Resident. I have a 3.5 GPA and I'm taking the MCAT in mid August. I seem to be doing very well on the practice tests but we'll see. I am half Mexican and half South Asian. My major is History. I am involved in Academic Integrity Council (officer), Hispanic Health Professions Organization (member), Women in Medicine (member), Muslim Students Association (officer), and Operation Smile (officer). I shadowed a doctor summer of 2010. Last summer I just did summer school and studied for the MCAT. I'm also on the board of a women's shelter where I also extensively volunteer.