US Grad to Canadian Medical Schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

STLMako91

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a recent US grad with a 3.9 GPA and have always contemplated living in Canada. I honestly wouldn't mind going up to Canada and spending my career there. How likely would it be for me to gain an acceptance at a canadian medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a recent US grad with a 3.9 GPA and have always contemplated living in Canada. I honestly wouldn't mind going up to Canada and spending my career there. How likely would it be for me to gain an acceptance at a canadian medical school?

How is your MCAT? A few schools do accept Americans, namely McGill, UofT and maybe Dalhousie. McMaster says they accept internationals but I don't think they've accepted many, their admission stats don't have any or don't distinguish internationals.

A 3.9 puts you in the average acceptance range for McGill, UofT and McMaster. I think for Dal its above average. It keeps you in contention for sure, but it'll really depend on your MCAT and your ECs.

Profoundly difficult. Canadian medical schools are far more competitive than American ones, due to their limited number of seats, and they are state-funded primarily and thus obligated to take Canadian citizens above all else. You'd be a unicorn if you got admitted.

Members don't see this ad :)
How is your MCAT? A few schools do accept Americans, namely McGill, UofT and maybe Dalhousie. McMaster says they accept internationals but I don't think they've accepted many, their admission stats don't have any or don't distinguish internationals.

A 3.9 puts you in the average acceptance range for McGill, UofT and McMaster. I think for Dal its above average. It keeps you in contention for sure, but it'll really depend on your MCAT and your ECs.