Usmle RX or Kaplan Q bank

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspiringmd1015

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so im starting with q banks pretty soon and needed some help. Before anything, i will get uworld 100%, but thats later on during my study period. Right now im trying to get a q bank that'll reinforce my concepts and make sure that im studying properly. So should i get the kaplan q bank or usmle rx? ive heard that rx is just to make sure that youre actually studying your first aid, so ive heard mixed reviews on whether to start it early bc you'll get one good read out of first aid, or towards the end so you'll be memorizing first aid properly(the nitty details), but if i keep rx towards the end, wont it be difficult to do with doing uworld as well? confused, please help!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
So I understand that Uworld is the question bank that people most highly recommend and will save for their studies leading up to the exam, but what are the other options for qbanks?

I'm starting my second year in the fall, but like OP, I'm looking for another qbank to use to review old concepts (and also gain a better understanding of what sort of things will be tested and the nuances of USMLE question styles). Does anybody have any recommendations? Any qbanks that have good explanations as to why answers are right/wrong?

They are literally in the title of this thread.

So there's only 3 qbanks? I was asking because I thought there might be a couple of more. Also, I was hoping someone could give insight into which of the qbanks (besides Uworld) most closely resembles USMLE questions.