About the ads

USMLE step 2 CS required before allopathic match?

Discussion in 'Osteopathic' started by HumptyDumptyMil, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. HumptyDumptyMil

    HumptyDumptyMil Almost done...

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Status:
    Medical Student
    SDN 5+ Year Member

    SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Very specific question here. I was wondering if USMLE step 2 CS score reporting is required BEFORE MATCH DAY for general surgery allopathic programs? I already know some places do not consider your application without the the score report, and I am not planning on applying to these places.

    I'm having difficulty getting in touch with the programs, and I would need to know ASAP because available test dates are limited. Thanks for the input
  2. cyclohexanol

    cyclohexanol No, no. Doggie afuera.

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Snowed In
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Physician SDN 7+ Year Member
    Ehh, I'm not sure why you would take CS. I've never heard of any program caring whether you took USMLE 2 CS or COMLEX 2 PE, as long as you passed. Am I missing something here?
  3. FutureInternist

    FutureInternist

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Where Bugs Bunny should have made a left turn
    Status:
    Fellow [Any Field]
    SDN 7+ Year Member
    Programs that care about USMLE will probably look for your CK score rather than CS. I THINK, that as long as you pass PE, you should be fine.
  4. DrWBD

    DrWBD Formerly 'wanna_be_do' Lifetime Donor

    Joined:
    May 2, 1999
    Messages:
    1,072
    Location:
    Long Island, NY USA
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    SDN 10+ Year Member
    I would suspect that anyone from a residency program telling you that you can't apply because you didn't take USMLE Step 2 CS is either misinformed or not going to take you anyway. I would get your information from someone higher up than a program coordinator or secretary if you haven't done so already.
  5. HumptyDumptyMil

    HumptyDumptyMil Almost done...

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Status:
    Medical Student
    SDN 5+ Year Member
    Thanks for the reply. I have heard back from some programs after posting, and for future reference for people who may have similar questions after me. This is specifically for allopathic general surgery programs:

    YES some programs require proof that you have PASSED USMLE step2 CS BEFORE APPLYING (including osteopathic applicants) This was confirmed by program directors if there was any confusion.

    YES, some programs DO NOT consider osteopathic applicants.

    Fortunately, most of the programs seemed very receptive and understanding of being and osteopathic applicant. We will see how many interviews I am granted.
  6. DrWBD

    DrWBD Formerly 'wanna_be_do' Lifetime Donor

    Joined:
    May 2, 1999
    Messages:
    1,072
    Location:
    Long Island, NY USA
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    SDN 10+ Year Member
    It's ridiculous that you have to take the CS to be considered. The CS exam (as well as COMLEX-PE) is basically political posturing by the AMA/ACGME and AOA, not a true measure of your skills or knowledge as a physician.

    I've always advocated osteopathic students taking the -written- USMLE exams for competitive ACGME residencies, but this seems silly. Unfortunately, if they say they won't consider you without it, and you really want to go to these places, I suppose you have no choice. Good luck...
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2009
  7. bravotwozero

    bravotwozero Chronically ambitious

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    Detroit
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    SDN 7+ Year Member
    what about the step 2 written exam? If you are applying to allopathic residencies, do you have to take it, if you already have taken step I?
  8. cyclohexanol

    cyclohexanol No, no. Doggie afuera.

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Snowed In
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Physician SDN 7+ Year Member
    Short answer: depends on the program.



    I think most people will say you don't need to take it. However, if you're shooting for a moderately competitive field, it probably won't hurt you unless you end up bombing it...

Share This Page


About the ads