Army USUHS with no prior military exp and a family

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iamjvc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I've read about 60-100 pages here, and it has been very helpful but I'm still looking for something more specific to my situation. I'm a 30 y/o married woman with a 2 y/o. No experience with the military, though my husband was Navy (and loved it) before we met. I'm currently in my 2nd year of pre-med and thinking a great deal about applying/going to USUHS. Since I'm the 1st person in my family to attend college and would be the 1st to serve I don't have anywhere to go for advice, besides you lovely people.
I like the idea of serving in the military and helping soldiers, and I also like the idea of not having to worry about being unable to provide care because an insurance company does not want to pay for it. Since I have a family the money and lack of debt is really enticing, and I am set on Family Practice, so even after residency I think the money is great. Plus, help with childcare is a huge thing. Additionally, I don't feel like being a doctor makes me a super human who deserves to have all the mere mortal crawling at their feet. It's a calling, I want to do it to help people and hopefully prevent unnecessary suffering and death, not to feel like the big (wo)man on campus. Finally, my husband does not have a career where moving around would be an issue, he is an exceptional salesmen, and I'm pretty sure there is stuff to sell everywhere, and for the short term we love the DC area.
I have seen a lot of people mention that sh*tty bases are a reason to not join, but we moved from Southern California to North Dakota for my school, and are managing to deal with that, so I'm optimistic Ft. Polk is something we can handle.