Utility of MPH in rural medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Patassa

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a non-trad student (currently an engineer) who was recently accepted to my state Medical School of choice. They have a rural track that I've applied for which puts me on the path to do one of 5 primary care specialities and practice in rural Louisiana. I'm most interested in Family Medicine as it would allow me the role in the community and lives of people that I am most interested in pursuing right now.

I'm curious as to the utility or usefulness of obtaining an MPH either during medical school (a combined MD/MPH degree) or through one of the combined residencies out there?

What I have in mind is potentially trying to start programs or at least a weekly newspaper column (etc) on general health care and disease prevention measures that the community at large could take. Maybe discussing things like obesity, diabetes, some forms of cancer, heart disease and recommending lifestyle/cultural changes that people could make to increase their overall health. Just wondering if getting an MPH would be beneficial for these goals, should they not change over the course of my medical school and residency educations? If so, would the best time to obtain said MPH be during medical school or during residency?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello, I'm a non-trad student (currently an engineer) who was recently accepted to my state Medical School of choice. They have a rural track that I've applied for which puts me on the path to do one of 5 primary care specialities and practice in rural Louisiana. I'm most interested in Family Medicine as it would allow me the role in the community and lives of people that I am most interested in pursuing right now.