Want to do Neurosurgery, How?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

imthatoneguy86

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a new MS3 that just started my first rotation 2 weeks ago. I've been sold on going into neurosurgery for a few years now, since I was an undergrad. I wanted to ask your advice in terms of what things I would need to do to improve my chances of getting into a good program. I'm not sure as to what I should be doing this third year during the busy rotations. How much research is enough research and what board scores would give me a good shot. I just received my step 1 score and got a 247. I haven't been able to find residency numbers but I know neurosurg is really competitive, and was wondering if anyone knows the cut offs and such things. Any and all advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Visit Uncleharvey.com. Its a neurosurgery specific forum and almost all your questions can be better answered there if they havent already.