Wayne state DMC VS Sinai Grace

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

realruby2000

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
What are the main differences between these two programs? they seem both strong to me and the fact that they're in detroit makes me think that they're really strong. besides what's on scutwork Can anyone offer any other info about these 2 programs ?

thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I inteviewed at both and thought they were both good programs.

I'm not an expert by any means on the Detroit programs but I think DMC (Detroit Receiving) might have a slight edge based on name recognition at least.

Perhaps someone else can give you a more meaningful answer.

Both programs are associated with the DMC and Wayne State University, so in a way are sort of sister programs. At both programs you will do rotations at Children's Hospital of Michigan and Hutzel Women's hospital. In the last few years they have begun a "resident sharing" program so that each program's residents spend 1 0r 2 months at the other hospital. But I don't know if that is still going on. They are both strong programs where you will see a lot of pathology but they are definitely separate AND DIFFERENT programs (just ask the residents).

Receiving has a stronger academic history, a brand new ED, shares trauma with a strong surgery dept..

Grace has more trauma, a WEALTH of procedural experience, less reliance/co-leadership with surgery, ...and more trauma.

Members don't see this ad :)
Wondering if someone can give a quick blurb on the Detroit area programs? I am getting interviews at most if not all of them but I dont want to interview with 6 places. Anyone with thoughts?

Same here. Don't know much about Saginaw, Kalamazoo, St John and Sinai-Grace. A blurb would definitely be appreciated.