Well my local university accepted me. Do I major in Biochem or Biology?

Names_What_Are_Those

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone I am 19 years old and I graduated high school last year, but I've been wondering around figuring out what to do with life. I've always known that I wanted to go into the medical field, but I've been figuring out what I want to do in the medical field in the past few months. I'm planning to focus on neurological surgery.

Graduated last year with pretty good scores I would say

GPA: 3.4

SAT: 1650

I want to know if Biochem would be a better study then biology. I view Biochem as a lot harder then biology, but I also heard medical schools have a higher chance of accepting you if you have a degree in Biochem. So would it be better to have a 3.8 GPA in Biology then a 3.4 GPA in Biochem.

Also should I volunteer at some local hospitals?

Members don't see this ad.

3.8 in anything is better than a 3.4 in anything. Your major doesn't matter for going to medical school -- only if you need a backup plan for if you don't get in or change your mind. And you should certainly volunteer at some hospitals.

Reactions: 1 user
3.8 in anything is better than a 3.4 in anything. Your major doesn't matter for going to medical school -- only if you need a backup plan for if you don't get in or change your mind. And you should certainly volunteer at some hospitals.

My backup plan if I don't get accepted to a medical school I'm gonna go into trades work plubmber, electrian, and etc

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello everyone I am 19 years old and I graduated high school last year, but I've been wondering around figuring out what to do with life. I've always known that I wanted to go into the medical field, but I've been figuring out what I want to do in the medical field in the past few months. I'm planning to focus on neurological surgery.