What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JakeSill

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know my chances are slim but what are they realistically? I'm a 2nd semester Sophomore. I know it's a lil early but I might switch career if I can't it looks like I can't get in right now.

Overall GPA 2.98
Science GPA - 2.70

Going to list my sciences and math only

Main college 4 year science
A&P 1 and 2 - C+
Nutrition - B
Orgo 1 and 2 - C

Main College 4 year Math

Precalc - A
Calc - C+

2 year CC science (summer class)
Chem 1 B+
Chem 2, D, B+ (took it twice)
Microbiology A
Bio 1 and 2- B+

No DAT yet

EC

Project Coordinator 1 semester- Food bank related
Peer advisor 1.5 semsters

Members don't see this ad.

Do a masters (finish with a GPA above a 3.7) and score a 20 on the DAT.

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't want to sound like a jerk, and don't take this the wrong way, but honestly if you are thinking that you might switch career paths, do it. You are going to go through a heck of a lot of crap and end up in an insane amount of debt for something that you are not passionate about. If you don't feel like you are very into it, it's gonna be pretty sad when you get to your clinical years of dental school and figure out that you made a huge mistake. Do some hard core shadowing, find out if this is what you really want to do the rest of your life, and if you find the passion for it, then you will do everything you can to make it into dental school. And if that's the case, you have time to get your grades up and get a ton of EC's to prove to the adcoms that you want it badly enough.

Reactions: 1 user
Don't take this the wrong way, but it can be done and you are in a lot better situation than some people.

Since you are only a sophomore, try taking more science classes and try to boost that GPA up to at least 3~3.2, higher the better of course.