What are my chances ?!??!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Trident14

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
First time I took the MCAT I got VR: 6, PS: 10 and BS: 12 = 28, Thought I should improve my VR score and retook the Exam to and got VR: 6, PS: 9 and BS: 10 a dismal 25. I have a 3.5 Science GPA and I attended the University of Washington. I have 2 years of research experience with multiple abstracts published in the journal Blood. I had shadowed an oncologist at an out patient cancer treatment center for 80+ hours, currently I’m shadowing a high risk ob/gyn attending physician at the University of Washington medical center, which has given me the opportunity to be at the hospital for 8+ hours, stay overnight, and do morning rounds with her and her team of residents. I also get to see the birth of new babies (c-section and vaginal) and how complicated pregnancies are managed. I have reasonable ECs and volunteering hours. Being a Washington state resident I feel like my best chances are UW, but the school I really want go to is Meharry in Nashville TN. Do you guys think I have a shot?

Members don't see this ad.

What's your overall GPA?
Why do you think your verbal was low?

That MCAT IS fatal mate, no MD will take you, and very likely no DO. Best option is to commit as long as you need to MCAT prep until you've maxed out your score on practice tests (need a 34+). Once you've done so, retake. While doing so, do a post-bac to bring your GPA up. After doing all of that (as long as you need-1-2 years), reapply.

Members don't see this ad :)
good to go for DO. ^^^ guy is nuts.

Reactions: 7 users
Retake was rough.... A 25 is still fine formost DO schools. Md is likely at all