MD & DO What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

az345

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I plan on applying next spring 2016. I transferred from a California CC to a UC Davis (top 10 public school) as a Physiology major. I transferred with a 3.28 CC gpa in 3 years of course work. My GPA was really low because I was working 30-35 hours per week the whole time. I got a C in Gen chem2, Physics1, Ochem2 and Gen Bio2. I then earned a 3.89 GPA during my 2 years at UC Davis. I received solid A's in all but 3 of my upper division Bio courses. After graduating, I retook Ochem, Phys1, and Genchem2 after transferring and earned A's in all of them. Took anatomy as well at a CC after I graduated. Here are my stats:

-3.6 Overall GPA
** steep upward trend. 3.28 at CC, 3.89 at UC Davis.
-Graduated with high honors at UC Davis
-518 MCAT
-Received a Department Citation in the Physiology Department
-Deans List 4 out of 6 possible quarters(Earned a 4.0 GPA in all quarters/summer sessions except Fall2015)
-1st generation college student, disadvantaged URM (Father is mexican)
-300 hours of medical internship/volunteering (40 hours in GI, 260 in ER/Trauma)
-200 hours volunteering at Soup Kitchen
-100 Hours of volunteering: delivered leftover food from the school cafeteria to the homeless shelter
- Currently working as an E.R. Scribe (13 months in counting)
-1 year and 4 months of research in a Plant Biology and Molecular Biology Lab (no Publication or Poster)
-CPR Certified
- 120 hours of shadowing (70 hours in orthopedic, 30 in family medicine, 20 in pain medicine)
-Tutored Gen chem and Introductory Biology at my CC for 1 year
-Worked various fulltime jobs (McDonalds, Pizza Hut, Walgreens) during my 3 years at CC

My LOR's are okay. I have one from the surgeon that a shadowed (strong letter), Post-Doc (strong), from 2 science professors (1 average, 1 above average), and a writing professor (above average)