MD what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JDOGGG

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello, I have had a strange path to becoming a doctor. I will mostly summarize it so you can get the gist, but I must mention certain factors (which I will write about in essays) so that a holistic view of my "chances" can be seen.

so, I graduated from university about 2 years ago. My graduating sGPA was a 3.38 cGPA was 3.53

my grade trend definitely dips from beginning to end, and regardless of excuses mentioned, my mother passed away while I was in my 3rd/4th year of college and considering I went to college out of my home town (about 3 hours) I commuted a lot back and forth to see her. it was extremely stressful and not a very fun time. If you look at my actual class grades. I achieved an A in nearly every pre-med science class I took and for most of my academic career (except the last 2 years) my sGPA was much higher than my cGPA. but when this whole mess started my grades dropped significantly, I received 3 science class C's within 3 semesters and many more B's also (hence the low sGPA)

continuing, post graduation I was a bit broken up about being able to attend med school with everything that had happened (even though it was the only thing I ever wanted to be since I was 11). I did not have the money to try and attend a post-bac program to raise my GPA or try and get another degree and thus I took a 2 year hiatus.

the first year I became a realtor (a pretty damn good one) quite a ways from home, but I felt a bit purposeless even though I knew what it was that mattered most to me.

after much anxiety/depression/struggle (which I will not outline here) I finally pieced myself together and realized I will never be happy unless I follow with becoming a physician