What else can I be doing to become a strong applicant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedros

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! This is my first time here (please don't hate on me if I'm posting this in the wrong area, I'm sorry!) and I just wanted to see how my progress as a premed student is going. I've only talked to my premed advisor at school a couple times but wasn't really given any feedback as to my overall process. Here it goes:

I'm a rising junior. My sgpa is 3.7 (ish) and my cgpa is 3.82. I've majoring in Neuroscience and Film. I plan on taking a gap year (not exactly sure what I'll be doing yet though) and am going to take the MCAT during the summer of my junior year. In terms of what I've done so far:

Volunteer (medical)
EKG technician and ER volunteer in the hospital
(~200 hours) 2013-
JS Clinic and Education Center - Help with Diabetes and Healthy Eating workshops, assist in the primary and preventive healthcare for the uninsured, low-income families in Detroit, help grow community gardens and lead the farmer's market 2013-
OB/GYN Clinic - Helped with administrative tasks, organizing patient records, aid medical assistants with any requests, participated in community outreach about available programs 2013-
Health and Wellness Center - Similar to the above description. 2014-

Volunteer (nonmedical)
Temple -
Organize fundraisers and events to help promote Indian culture and heritage, such as dances and holiday festivities, community learning sessions, etc. 2013-
Detroit Partnership - Weekly tutoring of middle schoolers in Detroit schools, participate in service projects to clean parks and neighborhoods in Detroit 2014-
Kumon (After School Learning Program) - Assistant Instructor which entails designing individual educational plans for kids from K-12, monitor progress in math and reading, provide assistance when needed. 2013 -