What GPA do you need to shoot for for Dental school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surgeon_hopeful

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I was wondering what GPA is usually needed (excluding DAT scores for now) to get into a dental school. I'm kind of worried right now because I have a couple of Bs, and could very easily end up with a 3.5 this semester (I'm a freshman btw) since my social sciences class is killing me, and I got a low B on my bio test, so that's why I'm wondering.

Also, what are some good ECs to participate in freshman year? I have been really confused about this, so I haven't joined any clubs yet (which is probably really bad since school has been going on for more than a month now!), so what should I do, because I'm really behind in terms of ECs.

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

3.5 your first semester should be more than fine. Work on raising it steadily as the years go by. Dont worry, you have plenty of time.

first of all, i think you should relax.
i think 3.5 would be good GPA to have and anything above that will make you feel even safer (3.7+ would have no problem as far as GPA wise)

as far as clubs go, i would say join whatever clubs you want to participate. although you should definately join a pre-dent club or medical / dental fraternities to put some on your resume, it is also equally important that you have good social qualities (such as holding positions in different clubs other than pre-dents).
also try to find dentist offices where you can either shadow or even better work as dental assistants. (many places will want to see your resume, so you might need to start this later when you have something to put on your resume)

but not everything you do have to be 100% dental related (i worked at pharmaceutical company during college and during my interview they were very interested about that experience and my experience as a dental assistant)