What is practical experience with newest atypicals?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Igor4sugry

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What sort of experience do you find with using Saphris, Latuda, Fanapt (this one didn't catch on it seems) maybe even Vryalar for psychosis and mania? In my training institution these are simply not routine and we stick to the more established atypicals (risp, invega, zyprexa, etc). I have some experience with Latuda, and Saphris limited to outpatient. But none with Vryalar.
Is medicaid covering these medicines now? What about private insurance?
Saphris seems attractive for inpatient due to quick dissolvable formulation, and maybe negative symptoms?
Anyone trying Pimavanserin off-label?

Members don't see this ad.

I've only ever used Latuda of the ones you mention (kudos to the VA for having it on their formulary!). So far I''ve gotten decent results with it, but we shall see long term. I think only private insurance will cover most of those atypical, and Medicaid only with extensive prior authorization documenting prior failure.

I'm curious to see the long-term effects of Nuplazid in Parkinson's patients.

medicaid is a state program so it depends on the state. where i went to residency the state medicaid bizarrely paid for the new ones without prior auth (but wouldn't cover things like naltrexone without PA which i thought was ridiculous). I was not particularly impressed with saphris but quite a few patients seemed to like it. Had a fairly benign adverse effect profile, but it didn't seem to have too much therapeutic effect either. It is not good for inpatient - it is not orodispersible - instead it has a bizarre system where you have to keep it under your tongue for quite a while, then it dissolves, and then you have to swallow it (it's still absorbed through the gut, not sublingually), and many pts cant use it correctly.