What is the stipend amount AFTER taxes?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scvpredent

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Currently the living stipend is $2122/month. Assuming that the figure remains the same in the coming months, can someone please tell me what taxes are on it (federal/state and percentage)? I'd just like an estimate of what my living resources will be when I commission. I am a CA resident.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Currently the living stipend is $2122/month. Assuming that the figure remains the same in the coming months, can someone please tell me what taxes are on it (federal/state and percentage)? I'd just like an estimate of what my living resources will be when I commission. I am a CA resident.

Thank you.
Assuming your only income is your HPSP income, don't forget this amount only applies for 10.5 month. The other 1.5 months you'll get 2nd Lt pay as if you were on active duty.

Federal will depend on your tax bracket because it will factor in all income sources for the year. This can change if you have another job or are married. It may also be altered by any tax deductions you might have if you chose to itemize rather than taking a standard deduction. (http://apps.irs.gov/app/withholdingcalculator/)

California tax is silly high, so you'll need to just look that up yourself here (http://www.tax-brackets.org/californiataxtable)

For comparison, I get about $950-960 each stipend paycheck. Of course I live in Oklahoma City and all military income is exempt in OK (not to mention my cost of living is extremely cheap!). However, I'm also married which lowers my effective rate slightly.

Long story short, figure out what your total yearly income is and go pound out the numbers. If you want a rough estimate, assume your AGI is about $26,000 to $27,000.