What is wrong with me? What else do I need to do? Somebody please help me.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theDr.

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in may of '03 w/ a 3.98 with a business degree and I finished the following courses throughout my undergraduate degree.

- 9 credit hours of bio (3 A's)
- 8 credit hours of inorganic chem (A, A-)
- 6 credit hours of organic chem (2 A's)
- 8 credit hours physics (2 A's)
- 3 credit hours of organic chem lab (A-)
- 4 credit hours of biochemistry (A).
- I scored a 25 on the April '03 mcat and retook it
this April.

I did a research fellowship in the summor of 2002, i also did some research in the fall of '03 and took some MPH courses (they were free). i have a publication, good clinical experience, I have been employed full time since jan of '04 as tumor board technician.

Do i need to do a post-bac program and take more science courses. Do i need to get masters program? I have no idea what else to do. I was waitlisted at UMDNJ and I haven't hear anything from NYCOM while people from my interview group have been accepted.

I thought i had a great shot at NYCOM, i have a DO letter from a graduate there, thought my stats were good. But like i said, other kids from my interview group have recieved acceptance letters and when I called they said I was still under review...this is horrible.

It already seems late to do somethign for the fall....I did apply late but I only want to get into a DO program. PLEASE. i NEED SOME ADVICE HERE.

Should I:
- just re-apply early (send in aacomas June)
- take a summer course or two to show i can do higher level work
- go to a foreign med school (don't want to do this)
- NYCOM is my top choice
- im screwed
- i am 24 years old already -- i don't want to have to go back to school to get into a DO school again. What should I DO?????

Members don't see this ad.