What kind of physician are you?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

urge

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The kind that needs to treat every abnormal value/situation or the kind that thinks it is almost normal so let it be?

Treat or no?:

iCa 1.05
K 3.6
Bis of 65 with mild emg activity
Glucose 180
Paroxysmal a fib intra op, give amiodarone?
Ef 40%, start inotrope?
Post cpb platelet count 80, INR 2.1
Cardiac index 1.9

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
The kind that needs to treat every abnormal value/situation or the kind that thinks it is almost normal so let it be?

Treat or no?:

iCa 1.05 If we are coming off CPB and there is hypotension or the ECHO looks hypokinetic, I would tx with an amp of calcium ... otherwise no
K 3.6 No
Bis of 65 with mild emg activity At this point no ... I do not use the BIS but some of our anesthetists do. When I was a resident, one attending always wanted us to use it. If VSS, I might increase the gas a touch but otherwise I'd leave it be.
Glucose 180 No unless we are doing a heart, they prefer tight control and an insulin drip would be started
Paroxysmal a fib intra op, give amiodarone? No, rate control ... zap it if becomes unstable
Ef 40%, start inotrope? No unless it is a heart, in which case these type of patient's we would start milrinone
Post cpb platelet count 80, INR 2.1 No unless the surgeon is complaining that the patient seems oozy
Cardiac index 1.9If VSS stable, then no. If not stable, then depends on the entire picture (what does the ECHO show, hypotensive, tachycardic, etc)

On first glance, that's a whole lotta "meh" but context might make me care about some of those, some of the time. I'd need a more specific question to give a more specific answer.

Members don't see this ad :)
As GeaorgiaAnes indicated, it depends on the actual clinical situation.