What materials do I need to have before I start the application process?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Denizen

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am going to be applying to dental schools in one month, and right now I am studying for my DAT. I have all my letters of recommendation ready. I have never seen the AADSAS application before, and I was wondering if anyone had tips on what items I should have ready to go to be able to apply as soon as I take my DAT (will be taking in early July). The thing I am most concerned with are transcripts—how exactly does that process work? Do I need to order official transcripts from my high school and the colleges I've attended? How many copies? It comes sealed, so I don't open it, right? Do I even need hard copies or is there a way to do this electronically? I've seen someone suggest ordering unofficial transcripts as well to check for errors—how early does this need to be done? Should I order those before I order my official ones? Other than transcripts, are there any other materials I should order or have ready for the AADSAS application?

Additionally, I've seen it recommended that you should begin the application process A.S.A.P.—even if you haven't taken the DAT. This is an area of concern for me, though, because that would cut significantly into my studying time (as I've said, I'm taking the DAT in about a month). I feel a need to be studying that whole time. Any advice? I was planning on starting the application process as soon as I take the test.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for these helpful threads, guys, I'm still having trouble finding the answer to a few of my questions, though.