What Should I Do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WastedTime

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm thinking about applying to DO schools this cycle. I have a few questions since I am relatively new to the DO world. I have a decent science GPA of 3.3. Most of my grades below B were had in my first few years of undergrad and consist of intro courses. I have already graduated with a bachelors in biology. I calculated if i retake about 4 classes from early in my academic life, and get straight As, I can raise my science GPA to 3.6 with grade replacement. I have two questions. Would DO schools look down on me for re-taking intro science classes over again just to boost my GPA? Second if I applied this upcoming cycle with my current stats, how soon could i do an academic update with courses finished in the fall semester, and would it be enough to get a second look by some schools? Thanks for your input.

Members don't see this ad.

1) What's your MCAT?

2) What's your MCAT?

Schools won't look down on your for retaking classes. I retook general chemistry the same time I was taking 400 level chemistry. Worked out pretty well for me. With a 3.6/3.6/27 I received ii's to 8/11 schools I applied to.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
You're going to be a somewhat late app if you take it in August. So consider whether you want to apply this cycle or not or whether you've got a solid shot at... say a 28+.

I am taking my MCAT in August too, Ive been told I wount be early but I wount be late either....I guess it comes down to the specific school as some schools fill up faster than others....

Reactions: 1 user
I applied last cycle in late january early feb and got ii's to each DO School I applied to. interviewed and was accepted late feb. don't worry about an august mcat