What should I do

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ararm

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a junior studying health and exercise science sports med. I want to be a physical therapist I am feeling kind of down about my chances of getting in. Here is what I have to offer.
GPA 3.3
shadowing: about 90 hours but only in orthopedic out patient setting
I work as a physical therapy aide in our health center
I also have been tutoring biology the last 3 years.
I have volunteered working with and ms patient helping do stretches. And have gone on a service trip to wash d.c. to work with the homeless.

What I am worried about.
I have not taken the gre
I don't know a professor I can ask for a letter of recommendation.
My gpa is only average.

Thanks for any ideas you may have or input. I don't mind brutal honesty.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Study hard for the gre and if you get a good score, look for schools that focus on gre. I just had an interview with UCF and they really focus on gre. Btw, you are so lucky you live in Colorado! I really wanted to go there and I wish I had in state preference.

It's a given that you will get good letters of recommendation from pts. Start going to your professor's office hours for your next pre-req class. Often times, you can get a letter if the professor remembers you. They write these all the time, so don't feel inconvenienced asking them. I know it's daunting, but they love it when students ask for their help. Trust me.

Look for schools with a lower pre-req GPA, like Emory in Atlanta. It's a great school, but their pre-req is only a 2.75 compared to the 3.0 at other schools.