What's the anesthiologist salary nowaday?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrAwesomo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Back when I was a medical student, I did not apply because of the rumors that CRNA will lower Anesthesiologists' salary down to family medicine level. It may have been one of the worst decision of my life. Just curious, what is most recent salary (assuming 60-80 hr workweek) in this field?

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Also careers in medicine had average of $408,000 with 60 hrs/wk.

Back when I was a medical student, I did not apply because of the rumors that CRNA will lower Anesthesiologists' salary down to family medicine level. It may have been one of the worst decision of my life. Just curious, what is most recent salary (assuming 60-80 hr workweek) in this field?
Why was it a bad decision?

one attending told me the starting salary they offer fresh grad, at their group, was as low as what they paid their experience CRNA....talk about low balling! seriously i think the realistic number is probably 250k

Salaries are misleading unless you take the full compensation plus work hours into consideration.

My hours vary so much since I switched back into private practice.

I work 80 hours once every 5-6 weeks (cause I cover hospital entire 48 hour weekend). Usually light at night and just beeper after 7-8pm.

The other weeks I work 30-40 hours in hospital and another 10 hours beeper.

My total compensation this year is only around $325-350k. (That total including healthcare premiums paying own malpractice cme). I can probably push 400k doing extra calls or taking less vacation. The way the job is structured. I can essentially a free day off or a super light day (work 2 hours than go home) once a week as well.