When to apply for pod school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

imetu

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm confused about when is the right time to apply for podiatry school. Looking at the threads, most recommend applying as soon as the application is available (August) if you are just average or below average student.

I see that these people have interviews around Sept./Oct. But another podiatry student I've talked to personally said they interviewed for most schools during April. She took her MCAT (27 score) September so I think she applied early as well and has decent GPA (3.3) and recs, so I don't know why her interviews were much later than users here.

I can say that I'm an average student GPA wise and extracurriculars. I'm planning on taking the MCAT September but if I do not do well (below 22) then I would like to take it in January.
Should I just apply in January then or is it possible to apply around August/September but mention the possibility of retaking MCAT even if I don't know my score by then? Is that possible to say on the application?

Members don't see this ad.

Most people just want to make sure to get a seat at the school they want. Since it is rolling admissions you never know when spots might get taken. The smaller schools have less than 50 seats so it can get competitive.

In your situation you have to wait for your MCAT no matter what and I am sure you'll get above a 22 with another month of prep. Get your app filled out and submit it when you have your score. Assuming that your GPA is above a 3.0 you will get invites.

Keep in mind the change in that the MCAT format WILL CHANGE come January. Just keep that in mind.