When to start studying for the MCATs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UCLABruin

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I plan on taking the MCATs in spring of my junior year... when is a good time to start studying?

Members don't see this ad.

If you are planning to take PR or Kap then just wait until the courses start. Its not worth worrying about. You have to concentrate on 3rd year grades also.

If not then i would start over your winter break.
I have all the MCAT books from Princeton if you want them, plus lots of Kaplan materials, and Diag tets.

AK

Doc AdamK in 2006 I Pmed you!

Eduardo

Members don't see this ad :)
Now. (I'm serious)

To take the MCAT in spring, I started studying (not too hard though) since Oct. Starting Jan, I was hitting the books really hard. By 8 weeks before the test, I was doing nothing but tests.

I am not sure how I did on the damn test...but while I was practising, I used to get b/w 27 and 33.

If you have taken all the classes, then a good rule of thumb is at least 3 months of intensive study prior to the exam date. Three months is good because you'll be able to retain much of what you began to learn from the beginning. If you have a serious problem area like for me it was chemistry, then review that only for one month before the 3 months of studying begin. Make no mistake, you will have to study for it so while studying those 3 months be SERIOUS AND DILIGENT about it. Disregard any posters on this board that claim that they hardly studied for it at all or just 2 weeks before and got a 36. Assuming that they are not lying, remember that they are the exception and not the rule.

Good luck!

•••quote:•••Originally posted by Tweetie_bird:
•To take the MCAT in spring, I started studying (not too hard though) since Oct. Starting Jan, I was hitting the books really hard. By 8 weeks before the test, I was doing nothing but tests.