Which type of MD for me?

hombreamarillo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm currently a high school student looking into earning that MD title. However, I'm still unsure as to which MD specialty I should go for.

My reason for wanting to become a MD is to help others, hopefully to the point where I can make trips to third world countries and administer medical help free o' charge.

Which MD would you peeps recommend? I also want to do dermatology but I don't know if that is suitable for the jack of all trades MD I want to become.

Thanks! :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

What year are you in HS?

Right now in high school, specialty should be the last thing on your mind. There's shadowing and med school rotations for figuring that out, and some specialties will be out of your reach by the time you want to match into a residency (derm is pretty competitive).

For a "jack of all trades) you're looking at IM, EM, or FP. Those are the stereotypical doctor specialties that can handle a variety of cases. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
Become a general surgeon... then you can operate and still do medicine as a hobby :p

Seriously, you're in HS... cool to start thinking about it but you're going to change your mind 100x between now and then.

Survivor DO

Look into the primary care fields of medicine: GP, FP, IM, Peds, Geriatrics, Hospitalists, etc.

Right now, I would recommend you to focus on having good grades in HS and scorings in your SAT/ACT. When you enroll med school, then will be the time to think about that.

Thanks for the replies, but I'm going into my senior year so college is right around the corner. But thanks!