While in Prelim Surgery what do I apply to?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thinker

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Med3 nonUS-IMG and I want to make sure I understand my options if I go into a preliminary surgery year.

First I would apply and hopefully get in and then sometime DURING the PGY-1 preliminary year i would start applying for something for next year. This something could be one of the following:
1) PGY-2 categorical
2) PGY-2 prelim
3) PGY-1 categorical
4) PGY-1 prelim
5) Internal Medicine PGY-1 categorical
6) Paid Researcher? (I have a Master's degree with publications from Canada)
7) PMS (Professional Male Stripper)

So first question, when does the application process start? i.e. do I have to worry about those things before or during my application to my initial PGY-1 prelim spot?

Second.. If I want to apply to program X.. I can just tick on my application that I want all of the above options (obviously except the IM), and then they would match me into whichever I get? Or I need to select only one of the above options per program? i.e. I can apply to PGY-2 categorical at program X but they won't let me apply to a PGY-1 categorical as back up..

I don't see myself applying for another preliminary spot.. so for me it's either I make it into a categorical surgical spot or I'm packing for something else..

The problem is, even if I want to do Surgery at my current institution they have a pyramidal system in which they kick interns out every year.. no spot is categorical.. so might as well do the same process in the US...

Thanks a lot!!

Members don't see this ad.

and why dont you just want to apply to a gen surgery program?

as in why not apply categorical right away? because I'm a non-US IMG. I figure it's best going prelim first.. did I get ur question right!?

Members don't see this ad :)