White Coat Ceremony etiquette

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

b-real

What, me worry?
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So let's say I'm a proud graduate of School A, and am starting med school at School B, which is the arch rival of School A. I would like to wear my lucky tie (bearing my alma mater's color) to the WCC. What do you guys think, tacky or not?

Members don't see this ad.

So let's say I'm a proud graduate of School A, and am starting med school at School B, which is the arch rival of School A. I would like to wear my lucky tie (bearing my alma mater's color) to the WCC. What do you guys think, tacky or not?

No one actually cares enough about "school rivalries" to probably even say anything to you, outside of movies, of course. Especially if the tie is just the school's color. If I saw someone wearing an orange tie, my first thought would not be "Oh, he went to UT", heh.

NO ONE IS GOING TO NOTICE YOUR TIE unless it has a huge emblem of that rival school. Seriously... a tie? they won't notice.

Members don't see this ad :)
Unless this is something big like UNC-Duke that you are talking about I doubt someone will notice. (and if it is UNC-Duke then be proud of your side! As long as it isn't UNC :p)

Seriously though there is no reason to quit being loyal to your Alma Mater. If the tie is just a solid color or features the color prominently then whatever! (now if it actually is a tacky tie then you be the judge but I wouldn't let the rivalry dictate what you wear)

A burnt orange tie will draw looks at a red school... :D

Don't wear USC colors if you're attending UCLA....if you are going to USC and want to show off the good old blue and gold, go for it :laugh:

To go along with this thread, my favorite business wardrobe is a black suit with a pink tie. I know how conservative the medical industry is, could the pink tie be detrimental in an interview?