white students at HBCUs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bunjagraham

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a white student at an HBCU medical school, and while I feel honored to have been accepted into this school, I cannot stop feeling like many of my classmates think I should not be there because I am not a URM. I don't know what the admissions committee was thinking when they accepted me, aside from that hopefully I was qualified to enter medical school, but I feel like some of my classmates need me to justify my presence at the school, and I am not able to do that, other than by saying that I was accepted by the admissions committee and chose to attend.

I wanted to post to this forum because I was wondering what people's honest thoughts/feelings were about having white students at HBCUs. Do you wish we were not there? Is there anything we can do to make ourselves more welcome?

Thanks for any feedback...
:cry:

Members don't see this ad.

Only white people can be racist. What you perceive is your majority race hate vibes reflecting back at you.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a white student at an HBCU medical school, and while I feel honored to have been accepted into this school, I cannot stop feeling like many of my classmates think I should not be there because I am not a URM. I don't know what the admissions committee was thinking when they accepted me, aside from that hopefully I was qualified to enter medical school, but I feel like some of my classmates need me to justify my presence at the school, and I am not able to do that, other than by saying that I was accepted by the admissions committee and chose to attend.

I wanted to post to this forum because I was wondering what people's honest thoughts/feelings were about having white students at HBCUs. Do you wish we were not there? Is there anything we can do to make ourselves more welcome?