Who pays more for Certified Pharmacy Techs? CVS or Walgreen's?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anthony T

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to get experience by working as a Pharmacy Tech at CVS or Walgreen's. I have interviews with both, but I know they pay for you to get certified.

However I heard that Walgreen's pays more than CVS. Is that true?

Members don't see this ad.

There are probably half a dozen posts about who pays more for certified technicians. It depends on your area, but overall I think Walgreen's pays more. I'm a certified technician at CVS and I make $7.15 (minimum wage in Pennsylvania).

CVS definitely is the champion of worst technician pay rates. I think Walgreen's, Kroger's, Walmart, and Target give better rates. Rite Aid and Duane Reade also start you off at minimum wage.

Members don't see this ad :)
I've heard good things about Target.

CVS only pays $7.15? Your skills are definitely worth more!!

Indies pay the best by far in my experience. We start our techs here at $11.25. Rong-Aid starts them at just over CA minimum wage and Target is $1.75 over minimum wage. Not sure about Wal-Mart.

it depends on location, maybe you should be worried about who gives you a job first.

it depends on location, maybe you should be worried about who gives you a job first.

Yeah first you should see if both of them even offer you a job. There are other factors you should consider too like where you'd like to work, the # of scripts they do in a day, and which pharmacy manager you seem to like and connect with more. Otherwise I really have no clue which pays better but i'd assume they'll tell you what they are going to pay you before they make you accept the job.

Indies pay the best by far in my experience. We start our techs here at $11.25. Rong-Aid starts them at just over CA minimum wage and Target is $1.75 over minimum wage. Not sure about Wal-Mart.