Who pays more for Certified Pharmacy Techs? CVS or Walgreen's?

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by Anthony T, 05.25.09.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Anthony T

Anthony T 2+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
    I'm trying to get experience by working as a Pharmacy Tech at CVS or Walgreen's. I have interviews with both, but I know they pay for you to get certified.

However I heard that Walgreen's pays more than CVS. Is that true?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. tommyVoltage

tommyVoltage 2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    There are probably half a dozen posts about who pays more for certified technicians. It depends on your area, but overall I think Walgreen's pays more. I'm a certified technician at CVS and I make $7.15 (minimum wage in Pennsylvania).

4. Kirbypuff

Kirbypuff Worldling 2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    CVS definitely is the champion of worst technician pay rates. I think Walgreen's, Kroger's, Walmart, and Target give better rates. Rite Aid and Duane Reade also start you off at minimum wage.

5. GlamDoc

GlamDoc 2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I've heard good things about Target.

CVS only pays $7.15? Your skills are definitely worth more!!

6. Passion4Sci

Passion4Sci LML Moderator Emeritus 2+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student
    Indies pay the best by far in my experience. We start our techs here at $11.25. Rong-Aid starts them at just over CA minimum wage and Target is $1.75 over minimum wage. Not sure about Wal-Mart.

7. thephoenician88

thephoenician88 wat. 5+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    it depends on location, maybe you should be worried about who gives you a job first.

8. trailrider400

trailrider400 5+ Year Member

Pharmacy Student