Menu Icon Search
Close Search

About the ads

1. If you prefer the SDN Blue style, go to the bottom left of the page and select "SDN Blue"

Why is it so hard for me to become a stronger applicant????

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by Oink, 04.21.12.

1. Thanks to Crack the PCAT
  1. Oink

Oink

SDN 2+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Hi everyone,

I'm a third year undergraduate and I am trying so hard to find some kind of pharmacy experience. I've literally been going store to store asking if pharmacies are willing to accept volunteers for the past 3 months and I've gotten nothing! Not even the independent pharmacies would let me shadow! They all say they're full or they don't allow it.

I feel what's holding me back is my awful first 2 years of college where I've had no extracurriculars and GPA of 3.0. I've been trying my best to make up for those two years! I got my GPA up to a 3.3 and got involved in two health related clubs and Ophthalmology research.

People used to tell me that research looks really good for applicants but now I'm hearing the opposite because my research is not pharmacy related. Is it true that my research is not really going to help me strengthen my application to pharmacy schools?

I really don't know what to do. I feel like those first 2 years of college is keeping me from going anywhere for example being denied from tutoring and leadership positions that I've tried out. I'm a certified Pharmacy Tech but I only self-studied and passed the test for the certificate. I feel like I'm just stuck and can't go anywhere further to make myself look better to pharmacy schools :(

Please, any advice on what I should do is greatly appreciated!
  2. AlPacino

AlPacino "We Will!" Moderator

Pharmacy Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    You are a Certified Pharmacy technician and for the past 3 months every single pharmacy you have asked has denied you from even shadowing(not looking for job) for the day?