Why....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlondeDocteur

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone go into Cytology? I am really failing to see the appeal.

Members don't see this ad.

How do you mean by 'go into cytology'? As a resident I knew faculty who rotated through the cytology service along with their surg path work, but I didn't see any pure cytology people aside from the cyto techs. I imagine some labs employ such people and I agree - that sounds like a horrible job. I'm not a surg path guy myself, but I do see the appeal of a cytology fellowship to complement one's general diagnostic skills in community based pathology practice.

Last edited:
I've inspected a few cytopathology only labs. They do exist or at least did. The last one I inspected sold out to labcorp and doesn't exist any longer.

You may not like cytology but you never know what situation you may end up in. Pulmonologists are doing a lot of endo FNAs nowadays and if you end up in Kentucky, where cigarettes are still fairly cheap, you will be assisting many. Providing on-site evaluation is really important for a number of reasons and it's pitiful how small the reimbursement is.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was initially interested in other fields (heme, derm, GI), but ended up doing cyto and loved it--particularly because the faculty were great (most amiable & easy to work with), but it was the best year of my training.