Other OT-Related Information Will OT be replaced by recreational therapists?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

InfoNerd101

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Since they do similar work but their pay isn't as high nor is their education level.

Members don't see this ad.

I started looking it up ad what I found was that OT's and PT's usually have to focus on one task while recreational therapists have a "wider scope." A lot of what I read about rec. therapists consisted of outdoor activities. Reminded me more of counseling.
However, I really couldn't find a difference between OT and recreational therapists.

I wouldn't say so..I am a rehab tech. and work with PT's and they said that recreational therapy is a dying field and recommend not to go into it

Members don't see this ad :)
Absolutely not.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
I wouldn't say so..I am a rehab tech. and work with PT's and they said that recreational therapy is a dying field and recommend not to go into it

So what is the difference between recreation therapy and occupational therapy?

No. Also, OTs will not replace rec therapists. There is some overlap, but they are two different respected fields.

Last edited:
Licensing is a big problem for RT's. Another big difference is that RT's aren't doing evals (or aren't supposed to do evals), which brings in money for the facility. Also, RT's scope of practice is ambiguous...it's so broad, they can technically even spill over into a doctor's territory. Obviously, facilities won't let that happen, and in many places, the same goes for OT.