Will schools openly show bias?

Gilakend

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I searched for this but couldn't find exactly what I was looking for. Obviously some (medical) schools have strong in state bias because of their class profiles and so on.

I'm a Michigan resident so obviously my dream med school would be UMichigan. I was talking to my boss, who went to UofM, and he was suggesting that I go to an in state school rather than an out of state school which I currently plan on doing (it's cheaper). So I looked at class profiles and I noticed they do accept a lot of students from in-state schools but I wondered if that was because they preferred in state institutions or because generally the people there were in state residents?

I emailed U of M and they said that attending an out of state school would not, in any way, have weight on an acceptance there. Although due to the ~50% in state matriculation I would say they do have some.

I was wondering if anyone has any advice on this? I feel I'd be able to do better at the OOS school and it has the major I want, but I've dreamt of going to UMich for so long I wouldn't want to hinder my chances at such s great opportunity (low cost compared to others, good location, close to family, prestige obviously).

I realize this question is very premature and but I can't help but wonder when I have to make college choices in the near future.

Thank you in advance to all who read and/or answer.

Members don't see this ad.

Most schools will only care about whether or not you're a resident of their state. Even if you go to college out of state, if you have a Michigan license/voter registration/permanent address, you don't have anything to worry about.

Just go to the college that is the best fit for you.

Reactions: 1 users